The finalists for the Innovate Awards 2023 have been announced following a rigorous round of judging over the last few weeks.

The Innovate Awards, now in its second year, is delivered in partnership between the AHSN Network and NHS Confederation to celebrate best practise examples of collaboration in the adoption and spread of innovation across health and care.

A grand total of 191 entries from health and care teams across the country, covering 11 award categories, has been shortlisted to 56 finalists.

Commenting on the award entries, Chief Executive from NHS Confederation, Matthew Taylor said: “The work and collaboration to spread innovation across health and care is truly remarkable, as evidenced in this year’s Innovate Awards submissions. Our judges have commented on just how impressive, exciting and inspiring the work contained within the entries has been, and we are delighted to be able to highlight and celebrate these efforts.”

Richard Stubbs, Vice Chair at the AHSN Network said: “Recognising and rewarding our innovators is crucial to creating a culture of innovation.  That’s why we created the Innovate Awards last year and I’m delighted that we’ve attracted such a high calibre of entries for our second year.  I’m hugely looking forward to the awards ceremony when we’ll announce the winners. The work doesn’t stop there though, we then need to make sure that we spread all this best practice throughout the NHS so that it benefits as many patients as possible.”

The 34 judges included prominent healthcare figures from NHS England, regional NHS Trusts and Integrated Care Boards, patient involvement organisations, health equality organisations and innovation specialists. Read more about the judges here.

The award ceremony will take place on the evening of Thursday 21 September 2023 at the Grand Connaught Rooms, in London, WC2B. Tickets are available to book here.

Following the high standard and volume of entries received in 2022, a new ‘Best Use of Data in Health Innovation’ category has been added this year, meaning there are 11 award categories in total.

A 12th ‘winner of winners’ award – Innovation Champion of the Year – will be selected by the judges from across the other category winners. Read about 2022’s ‘winner of winners’, ChatHealth’s experience of entering and winning the awards.

Award categories 2023: 

  • New for 2023: Best Use of Data in Health Innovation
  • Net Zero Innovation of the Year
  • The Diversity in Innovation Award
  • Excellence in Patient and Public Involvement in Transformation and Innovation
  • Innovation Spread Award
  • Best Workforce Innovation
  • Innovation Helping Address Health Inequalities
  • Outstanding Contribution to Population Health Through Innovation
  • Innovative Health System of the Year
  • Outstanding Collaboration with Industry
  • Enabling Safer Systems of Care Through Innovation.

You can find all the finalists by category here.

Sponsorship opportunities are available. If you are interested in sponsoring a category, find out more here.

For more information about the Innovate Awards contact the organising panel at or visit the Innovate Awards website. 

  • Meet the innovator: Kerstyn Comley, Tellmi

    Tellmi is a social enterprise innovation which aims to address the growing demand for mental health services and tackle health inequalities for young people. It is a digital peer support app available launched in 2017 by psychologist Suzi Godson PhD and engineer Kerstyn Comley PhD. Kersytn explains how Tellmi works. Tell us about the innovation. [...]

  • How embracing Artificial Intelligence improves the human experience

    The NHS is facing record demand for services. According to The Health Foundation, the NHS waiting list for elective treatment in England has almost tripled in size over the last decade to 7.7 million. And latest figures show there were a record 2.35 million attendances at A&E across England in March this year. We know [...]

  • Ten principles of health equity for innovators

    “Health equity is the attainment of the highest level of health for ALL people. Achieving health equity requires valuing everyone equally with focused and ongoing societal efforts to address avoidable inequalities, historical and contemporary injustices, and social determinants of health — and to eliminate disparities in health and health care.” ( Within the NHS there [...]